Platini, Cruyff, Van Basten, Maldini, The Kings Without A World Cup Crown

By Geraldine Cook
May 19, 2010

Frenchman Michel Platini, Dutchmen Johan Cruyff and Marco Van Basten, and Italian Paolo Maldini are four great figures of soccer history who retired without having experienced the feeling of hoisting the World Cup, the sport’s most prestigious trophy.